Home > Company > Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Shri Krishna Prasad Nair

Shri Krishna Prasad Nair is Deputy Managing Director of IDBI Bank. Shri Nair started his career with Indian Overseas Bank as Probationary officer in 1981 and has been with IDBI since 1987. His three decades of banking experience spans across domains like Corporate Finance, Retail Banking, Human Resources and Information Technology and includes assignments as Zonal Head for North and East zones. Before his appointment as Deputy Managing Director, Mr. Nair was Executive Director and led Bank’s Retail Banking, Human Resources and IT divisions.

Dr. A. S. Ramasastri
Independent Director

Dr. A. S. Ramasastri took over as the Director of the IDRBT on October 24, 2014. Since then he has actively led the development and growth of the Institute, especially in the areas of relevance to banking like cyber security, analytics, cloud computing and payment systems. He has been instrumental in introducing the PGDBT, IBAC and IDRBT Staff Papers Series, setting up of CIO and CAO Forums, and in the Institute gaining the status of SIRO. He is the Chairman of IFTAS, the company promoted by IDRBT in 2015 to provide technology services to banking and financial sectors. He is on the board of DSCI and SETS. He is member of the important committees and working groups of Reserve Bank of India, which include Cyber Security Standing Committee and Working Group on FinTechs. Prior to joining the Institute, Dr. Ramasastri was the Chief General Manager-in-charge of Department of Information Technology at Reserve Bank of India. In the RBI, he has spearheaded many important projects including the implementation of the Next Generation RTGS, adoption of international standards like XBRL and ISO 20022, conceptualizing and guiding of banks on Automated Data, and preparation of IT Vision of RBI for 2011-17. His initiatives of XBRL and ADF have been globally recognized and has received "Award of Excellence" from XBRL International. Dr. Ramasastri authored two books titled 'Quantitative Methods for Valuation of Assets' and 'Quantitative Methods for Banking and Finance'. The former has been published in Chinese too. He has to his credit several articles on Finance, Banking and IT in eminent journals and newspapers. He has guided the Bank of Mauritius, Bank of Malaysia and Bank of Uganda on implementation of Data Warehouse, XBRL, etc. and delivered talks on standards and technology for data reporting at the International Monetary Fund and Bank of International Settlements. Dr. Ramasastri holds a Ph.D. in Finance from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras and was the top ranker in M.Sc. (Statistics) from Madras University and B.Sc. (Statistics) from Loyola College, Madras. He has also attended Advanced Management Programmes at the University of Oxford and Kellogg School of Management.

Shri A. P. Hota
Independent Director

Shri A. P. Hota, ex-Managing Director & CEO of National Payments Corporation of India (from August 2010 to August 10, 2017) was a career central banker for 27 years. A significant part of his career has been in the area of design and implementation of Payment systems in India. He has played a key role in implementation of MICR technology in Cheque Clearing, Electronic Funds Transfer, Automated Clearing House and Cheque Truncation System in India. His research document titled "RTGS System in USA - Lessons for India" as a part of IIB Diamond Jubilee Overseas Fellowship in 1997, was the starting point of RTGS design and implementation in India. Mr. Hota had headed the Department of Payment and Settlement Systems in Reserve Bank from March 2005 to July 2008 during which the 'Payment and Settlement Systems Act' was legislated, NEFT was introduced and there was rapid expansion in the access and usage of electronic payment systems. He also played a key role in widening the use of electronic payments in India. In August 2010 he joined as the Managing Director & CEO of National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI) which has been set up by banks in India under the aegis of Indian Banks' Association and support and guidance of Reserve Bank of India to provide central infrastructure for various retail payment systems in the country, including card payments. Within a year of his joining NPCI, the next generation remittance service - Interbank Mobile Payment Service was launched where 24x7 real-time money transfer was enabled. Under his leadership, NPCI has launched India's own card scheme 'RuPay' in record three years' time which is accepted on all three channels, viz. ATM, PoS and eCommerce with an issuance figure of 118 Million cards. He was conferred the 'Aadhaar Excellence Award' for his contribution to Aadhaar Enabled Payment System by the former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh on the 2nd Anniversary of UIDAI. He was also conferred the 'Skoch Financial Inclusion Award 2013' for Aadhaar Payment Bridge System (ABPS) and Immediate Payment Service (IMPS) at the hands of Shri Nandan Nilekani, Chairman UIDAI and also the Skoch Renaissance Award for 'RuPay' at the hands of Shri P. Chidambaram, Former Minister of Finance. On May 8, 2014, Mr. Hota received a commemorative memento from the hands of the former President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee on the occasion of dedication of 'RuPay' to the nation at Rashtrapati Bhavan. He was also a member in various Committees of the Government of India and Reserve Bank of India (RBI) and has contributed to policy and decision-making processes in Payment Systems and Financial Inclusion in particular.

Shri K. R. Murali Mohan
Managing Director & CEO

Shri K. R. Murali Mohan, Chief General Manager with IDBI Bank Ltd., has vast experience in the Banking / Finance / Information Technology domain extending for more than 37 years which includes stints with Indian overseas Bank, IDBI & IDBI Bank Ltd. Before taking over the present assignment as MD & CEO of IDBI Intech Ltd., he was the CIO of IDBI Bank with overall responsibility spanning policy, governance, monitoring, procurement, compliance and other functions in the IT area for the Bank. Prior to that he was the Director of Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Banking & Finance, the Apex training Institution of IDBI Bank at Hyderabad. Earlier, he has handled various businesses / operations of the Bank in different capacities including Alternate Channels, MSME and Priority sector Credit, corporate banking and project finance as well as branch banking in IDBI / IDBI Bank. He moved to IDBI in 1988 from Indian Overseas Bank where he served for more than 7 years during which period he managed banking operations, credit and forex at the branch level. Shri Murali Mohan is a Graduate in Commerce and a Certified Associate of the Indian Institute of the Bankers.